Hilton HHonors Award Category Changes

Some links to products and partners on this website will earn an affiliate commission.

Hilton HHonors has announced the latest changes to its award categories, and it’s basically good news with very few changes. You can check out the full list of Hilton HHonors Award Category Changes here.


As you can see, there are 11 increases and no decreases this time, which really isn’t too bad at all.

The only change of note from a UK (or indeed European) perspective is the Hampton by Hilton Newport East is changing from a Category 1 to a Category 2 – which doubles the number of Points required from 5,000 to 10,000 per night.

hilton gold status
Hampton by Hilton Newport East

That’s a bit of a blow for anyone highly dedicated to earning Hilton status through award stays (or anyone who actually needs to stay outside Newport of course!), given that there aren’t any Category 1 hotels left in the UK now.

The changes come into effect on 11th January 2017, but you can book for any future dates at the current rates until then (and Points bookings are almost always refundable), so it might be worth making some speculative bookings if you think there is any chance you might need to stay at any of the hotels changing Category.

Bottom line

Nobody wants to see hotels charging more Points per night, but 11 hotels globally over an entire quarter is hard to quibble with. It is a shame that there aren’t any decreases this time though to offset the rises, and that there isn’t a Category 1 hotel left in the UK now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *