Trying to understand Amex referrals between partners

Discussion in 'Miles & points via credit cards' started by Aston100, Mar 13, 2019.

1. Aston100

Aston100 New Member

Hello everyone.
    I am completely new to all this so I do apologise in advance for probably asking stuff that is common knowledge to you.

I am looking to obtain Amex Gold Preferred Rewards cards for my wife and I in order to maximise the referral rewards points. I am hoping to collect enough points (through this and other spending) to eventually get a couple of business class long haul flights somewhere in a few years.
    I've only just signed up to BAEC and will be getting her to do so shortly.

I have had a read through some articles on the internet but I am a little bit confused and unsure.
    I thought I would write down what I think is the correct process and was hoping you guys could advise if this is right, or (most likely) I've missed something or other.
    I'm sure I've got it wrong with the 6 month 'dead period' and perhaps there is a simpler way to do this whole process.

If it helps, I would prefer not to pay any fees for other cards, but am happy to consider other cards inside the 'dead period' or any other suggestions.
    I may be able to stretch to 20k spending per annum through credit cards between my wife and I.

Thanks very much for your patience.

Section 1:
    I obtain a referral link for myself from someone here
    I signup and spend £2k within 3 months.
    I receive 22000 points and my referrer receives 9000 points
    At this point, around 3 months have passed.

Section 2:
    I refer my wife
    She signs up and spends £2k within 3 months.
    She receives 22000 points and I receive 9000 points
    At this point, around of 6 months have now passed since the first step in section 1
    I now cancel my card (having held it for around 6 months) after transferring those points into BAEC family account

Section 3: