Easy ways of gaining status - airline and hotels

Discussion in 'Travel Tips & Strategies' started by NewbieTrav, Nov 2, 2015.

1. NewbieTrav

NewbieTrav New Member

As my name may suggest, I am very new to the "loyalty travel" game, having only recently got excited about it through a massive result on my BA Amex card (loads of Avios for a spend I was going to make anyway... plus cashback).

Given that it increasingly appeals to me, any quick tips for gaining status with airlines or hotels? Best shortcuts etc? Any direct links to boosted status?

Any help much appreciated.

2. tommyl

tommyl Co-founder Staff Member

3. GnarlyOldGoatDude

GnarlyOldGoatDude Active Member

Remember, although status is normally nice (and most trips will be enhanced by having a card of a precious metal hue), sometimes there are better solutions. I too have been sucked in to the game of chasing statuses, but when I look back, the mileage and mattress runs that I've done did not always make financial sense when I look at the travel I did in the next year. i.e. my job changed, so I'd chased status the previous year with no need for status in the current one.

Of course, hindsight is wonderful, and if you are not too worried about a few mis-steps and you enjoy the experience of the hunt, it is probably still worth it....especially if you can find fast track offers like the one for Hilton Gold.

SeanD and tommyl like this.
  4. tommyl

tommyl Co-founder Staff Member

Wise words.

You can of course easily become a slave to status, too. I love my Hilton Gold status, which I got "the easy way". However there's little doubt that it now holds me captive, forever seeking Hilton hotels and Hilton offers with a definite loss of objectivity.

SeanD likes this.
  5. SeanD

SeanD New Member

There's the Starwood Gold/Platinum challenge:

Email [email protected] to request it.

Then...