Best way to use points to get to Canada

Discussion in 'Travel Tips & Strategies' started by Pointsmeanprizes, Sep 21, 2017.

1. Pointsmeanprizes

Pointsmeanprizes New Member

Hi,

I'm new to all this forum posts so forgive me if I am being stupid.

Can anyone advise what the best way to use points and miles to get to Canada is? I've got a family wedding next year in July and want to do it as cheap as possible. I have over 50k Avios from credit card promos and over 50k from moving my holiday inn points. I've only ever used Avios in Europe with the reward flight option and the taxes for using it to Canda seem high and was wondering if I was missing anything?

Cheers

JoeD likes this.
  2. JoeD

JoeD Well-Known Member

Hi Points - first of all welcome to InsideFlyer UK!

Secondly, there really is no such a thing as a stupid question here - only stupid answers (on occasion - and usually my own).

The 'best' way is obviously pretty subjective, but with a bit more info we should be able to offer some suggestions: Which part of Canada are you heading to, how flexible are your dates, and how amenable are you to connecting vs flying direct (if it saves money/Points).

3. FlyingPiggie

FlyingPiggie Active Member

Unfortunately trading 10,000 IHG points for 2,000 Avios isn't a particularly good deal at all, especially since BA will charge a substantial amount in surcharges.

There is very little you can do to reduce the cost of reaching Canada using Avios. If you're going to Toronto, I believe you have the option of flying on Aer Lingus via Dublin on separate tickets.

Otherwise, you would have to do something that sounds completely crazy... book using Avios from Dublin or Copenhagen to your Canadian destination, with a connection in London. You then need to make you own way to your chosen departure airport. (you can't just show up at Heathrow) The amount that BA charges is much lower.