Avois redemption or pay cash London to Japan trip

Discussion in 'British Airways | Executive Club' started by wing1, Jan 9, 2020.

1. wing1

wing1 New Member

Hi all!

I’m a bit of a novice here so any advice are welcome. I managed to build about 45k of avois points in the past few years (my partner has less, about 20k). We are planning to buy to Japan from London in October - November for 2 weeks to celebrate his 40th. I don’t know if I should take advantage of the current flight sale and buy the flights around £530pp on economy, or I should do flat cash + avois, or just try to use the avois points somehow? Or should I wait until the summer and hope for some bonus avois redemption event?

On a side note, I hadn’t had an amex card for 3 years. Had an email promo on 10k avois points if I create the BA AMEX card and spend £1k within 3 months (which can be easily done), or will I be better off applying for the amex gold (which I will struggle spending £3k in the first 3 months to get the 20k MR bonus? I don’t have any airport lounge tickets so the complimentary lounge entries from the Gold card can come in handy...

thank you for reading this! And thank you for any input on this!

2. JoeD

JoeD Well-Known Member

Hi Wing1 - welcome to InsideFlyer!

Using Avios to Tokyo would require 39,000 or 60,000 per person return (depending on peak or offpeak dates) + taxes/fees of about £325 each.

On that basis, even if you had sufficient Avios, your best case scenario (off peak for both the outbound and return) would mean you were only getting about 0.5p of value for each of your Avios, compared to the cash fare of ~£530.

Part Pay with Avios (ie using Avios to pay an element off a normal cash fare) should get you slightly better value, but still far from great.

Generally speaking, most people don't like to get less than 1p of value per Avios, so 0.5p definitely low - but everyone's circumstances are different.